Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster Logo McMaster logo

Chairs and Directors

CHAIRS AND DIRECTORS OF ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

Title First Name Last Name Term Position Faculty Department Office Location E-Mail Ext.
Dr. Lilian Chan 2019-2022 Area Chair Business Accounting & Financial Mgmt Services DSB 316 nainar@mcmaster.ca 23990
Dr. Narat Charupat 2017-2020 Area Chair Business Finance & Business Economics DSB 303 charupat@mcmaster.ca 26193
Dr. Catherine Connelly 2020-2023 Area Chair Business Human Resources & Management DSB 412 connell@mcmaster.ca 23954
Dr. Brian Detlor 2015-2021 Area Chair Business Information Systems DSB 403 detlorb@mcmaster.ca 23949
Dr. Manish Verma 2020-2023 Area Chair Business Operations Management DSB 415 mverma@mcmaster.ca 27467
Dr Nick Bontis 2020-2023 Area Chair Business Strategic Management DBS 207 nbontis@mcmaster.ca 23918
Dr. Sourav Ray 2019-2022 Area Chair Business Marketing DSB 212 sray@mcmaster.ca 22370
Dr. Glen Randall 2018-2022 Area Chair Business Health Policy and Management DSB 229 randalg@mcmaster.ca 26191
Dr. Michael Noseworthy 2010-2021 Director Engineering Biomedical Engineering ETB 406 nosewor@mcmaster.ca 23727
Dr. Carlos Filipe 2020-2025 Chair Engineering Chemical Engineering JHE 374 filipec@mcmaster.ca 27278
Dr. Michael Tait 2016-2021 Chair Engineering Civil Engineering JHE 301 taitm@mcmaster.ca 26469
Dr. Ridha Khedri 2018-2023 Chair Engineering Computing & Software ITB 160 lawford@mcmaster.ca 24826
Dr. Timothy Davidson 2012-2022 Chair Engineering Elec. & Computer Engineering ITB 111/A chair@ece.mcmaster.ca 24826
Dr. Rafi Kleiman 2019-2024 Chair Engineering Engineering Physics JHE A324 kleiman@mcmaster.ca 27764
Dr. Hatem Zurob Jan 1/17-Dec 31/22 Chair Engineering Materials Science & Engineering JHE 357 zurobh@mcmaster.ca 23515
Dr. Marilyn Lightstone 2018-2023 Chair Engineering Mechanical Engineering JHE 310 lightsm@mcmaster.ca 27726
Dr. Mo Elbestawi 2016-2021 Director Engineering Walter G. Booth School of Engineering Technology ETB 506 elbestaw@mcmaster.ca 26558
Dr. James Paul Sept 1/17-June 30/22 Chair Health Sciences Anesthesia MDCL 2109 jep@icloud.com 21736
Dr. Brian Coombes Jan 1/18 – June 30/22 Chair Health Sciences Biochemistry HSC 4N59 coombes@mcmaster.ca 22454
Dr. Holger Schunnemann 2014-2019 Chair Health Sciences Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impact HSC 2C16 schuneh@mcmaster.ca 24931
Dr. David Price 2016-2021 Chair Health Sciences Family Medicine DBHSC fmchair@mcmaster.ca 21253
Dr. Mark Crowther 2017-2022 Chair Health Sciences Medicine HSC 4V33 76395
Dr. Nicholas Leyland 2010-2021 Chief/Chair Health Sciences Obs/Gyn Juravinksi Cancer Centre, 4th Floor,
Room 4-204 s
905-387-9711 x64509
Dr. Jonathan Sussman Sept 1/17-June 30/22 Chair Health Sciences Oncology sussman@hhsc.ca 36291
Dr. Murray Potter Oct 1/18-June 30/23 Chair Health Sciences Pathology & Molecular Medicine HSC 2N16 mpotter@mcmaster.ca 36291
Dr. Angelo Mikrogianakis Dec 1/18-June 30/23 Chief/Chair Health Sciences Pediatrics HSC 3A mikrogia@mcmaster.ca 905-521-2100 x73141
Dr. Nick Kates 2012-2022 Chair Health Sciences Psychiatry Services, J 218 nkates@mcmaster.ca 36291
Dr. Julian Dobranowski Feb 1/20-June 30/24 Chair Health Sciences Radiology HSC 4N49 Julian.dobranowski@niagarahealth.on.ca 905-521-2100 Ext. 75298
Dr. Patty Solomon Jan 1/11-Jun 30/20 Associate Dean Health Sciences Rehab Science IAHS 403H solomon@mcmaster.ca 27820
Dr. Susan Reid 2012-2022 Chair Health Sciences Surgery HHSC 6 North reid@mcmaster.ca 73188
Dr. Martin Beckmann 2020-2025 Chair Humanities Classics TSH 714 beckmam@mcmaster.ca 23381
Dr. Christina Baade 2019-2024 Chair Humanities Communication Studies & Multimedia TSH 330 cmstdir@mcmaster.ca 23736
Dr. Susie O’Brien 2019-2024 Chair Humanities English CNH 327 obriensu@mcmaster.ca 23724
Dr. Eugene Nshimiyimana Chair Humanities French TSH 515 nsheug@mcmaster.ca 23745
Dr. Stephen Heathorn 2017-2022 Chair Humanities History CNH 620 heaths@mcmaster.ca 24850
Dr. Magda Stroinska 2016-2021 Chair Humanities Linguistics & Languages TSH 629 stroinsk@mcmaster.ca 24388
Dr. Chandrima Chakraborty 2019-2024 Director Humanities Peace Studies KTH 542 chandri@mcmaster.ca 23777
Dr. Stefan Sciaraffa 2016-2021 Chair Humanities Philosophy UH 310 chair.philosophy@mcmaster.ca 24312
Dr. Stephanie Springgay 2020-2025 Director Humanities School of The Arts TSH 414 sotadir@mcmaster.ca 27671
Dr. Jean Wilson 2018-2022 Director Interdisciplinary Arts & Science Program LRW 3038 wilsonj@mcmaster.ca 24656
Dr. Brian Coombes Jan 1/18-June 30/22 Chair Science Biochemistry HSC 4N59 coombes@mcmaster.ca 22454
Dr. Marie Elliot 2019-2024 Chair Science Biology LS 329 melliot@mcmaster.ca 24249
Dr. Gillian Goward 2017-2022 Chair Science Chemistry & Chemical Biology ABB 156 goward@mcmaster.ca 24504
Dr. K. Bruce Newbold 2018-2023 Director Science Earth, Environment & Society GSB 206B newbold@mcmaster.ca 27948
Dr. Ana Campos 2017-2022 Director Science Interdisciplinary Science GSB 105 camposa@mcmaster.ca 20841
Dr. Jim Lyons 2020-2021 Acting Science Kinesiology IWC 205 lyonsjl@mcmaster.ca 23591
Dr. Matheus Grasselli 2018-2023 Chair Science Mathematics & Statistics HH 218 grasselli@math.mcmaster.ca 23417
Dr. Graeme Luke 2016-2021 Chair Science Physics and Astronomy ABB 241 luke@physics.mcmaster.ca 24263
Dr. Robert Milliken May 1/17-June 30/21 Chair Science Psychology PC 102 millike@mcmaster.ca 27828
Dr. Tina Moffar Jan 1/18-June 30/22 Chair Social Sciences Anthropology CNH 527 moffatcs@mcmaster.ca 23906
Dr. Marc-Andre Letendre 2020-2025 Chair Social Sciences Economics KTH 410 letendre@mcmaster.ca 23810
Dr. Jim Dunn 2015-2023 Chair Social Sciences Health, Aging & Society KTH 225 haschr@mcmaster.ca 23832
Dr. Adrianne Xavier 2020-2023 Director Social Sciences Indigenous Studies HH 103 lickeram@mcmaster.ca 23788
Dr. Stephanie Ross 2019-2023 Director Social Sciences School of Labour Studies KTH 719 stephross@mcmaster.ca 24164
Dr. Karen Bird 2017-2022 Chair Social Sciences Political Science KTH 527 kbird@mcmaster.ca 23124
Dr. Daniel Machiela 2016-2021 Chair Social Sciences Religious Studies UH 106 relsch@mcmaster.ca 24210
Dr. Chris Sinding 2020-2022 Director Social Sciences Social Work KTH 319 sinding@mcmaster.ca 24596
Dr. Tara Marshall 2019-2024 Director Social Sciences Social Psychology KTH 634 marsht6@mcmaster.ca 20102

CHAIRS AND DIRECTORS OF ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

Title First Name Last Name Term Position Faculty Department Office Location E-Mail Ext.
Dr. Tina Fetner 2019-2024 Chair Social Sciences Sociology KTH 634 tina.fetner@mcmaster.ca 23623